Half Training: Week 6

Week 6, also known as The Week That Sucked.

Wednesday hill training with the Fleet Feet training group
Wednesday hill training with the Fleet Feet training group

Short, but lovely Thursday run near Lake Washington
Short, but lovely Friday run near Lake Washington

Short, but lovely Thursday run near Lake Washington
Short, but lovely Friday run near Lake Washington

On the University Bridge during Saturday's 8 mile run
On the University Bridge during Saturday’s 8 mile run

View from the University Bridge during Saturday's 8 mile run
View from the University Bridge during Saturday’s 8 mile run

This whole week was… challenging. As I mentioned last week, my sister injured her ankle. Luckily, she’s starting to feel better. Last week, however, because of her injury, I ran very little. I meant to run, in the end I just kept procrastinating. When I started running, I preferred to run by myself, but I started getting used to running with someone after I got my sister hooked.

On Monday & Tuesday, I told myself, okay let’s go out after having breakfast!
Which quickly became, okay it’s still early! Let’s do this in the late afternoon!
To then finally, it’s okay. We can still get out there tomorrow!

Wednesday quickly came around, thankfully because I have no excuse to skip on this day. It’s training with the Fleet Feet group! On this day, we were doing hill repeats. I hate these so much, but this workout is so necessary for hilly Seattle. The workout was: run up & down the hills twice, then up and around the block (once one way & then the opposite way), and finished with up & down the hills twice again.

Toward the end of the hill workout, Jaime (coach) noticed that my feet were rolling outward. She took a look at how I was standing and the bottom of my shoes (Saucony Omni 12), and strongly suggested that I get new shoes before Saturday’s long run. Jaime was worried about the potential for future injury, especially since we were ramping up the mileage.

I went to Fleet Feet the next day to try on new shoes, but Jaime wasn’t working that day. 😦 But Dan helped me settle on the Saucony Guide 7s. Dan brought out 3 shoes, but first had me try on a new pair of Saucony Omni 12s (in case I wanted to stick with the same shoes since I was used to them), and they were completely different! It amazed me how much my current pair had worn down. I did like the Omni 12s, but I wanted something a bit more flexible, so I got the Guide 7s. I like them so far.

Saucony Guide 7
Saucony Guide 7s! Thanks Jaime and Dan from Fleet Feet!

I went to get fitted on Thursday and was thinking of joining the Easter egg hunt fun run sponsored by Hoka One, but I ended up not joining in the end. It sure did look fun, though. So zero miles on this day as well.

On Friday, I convinced the BFF to go run with me in the evening. We went out on a trail near Lake Washington, which was beautiful and a bit hilly. She didn’t feel well so the target 4 miles ended up being around 2.13 miles, but it’s better than another day of nothing.

Saturday = 8 mile Saturday. I joined the pace group 1 above mine, because my mentor and other members didn’t show up. I ran with my friend for the majority of the time. It started off pretty nice, we ran from Capitol Hill to the University Bridge and around Lake Union. Around mile 5-6 I hit the wall—hard. I was fighting with myself mentally the entire time back to the store. I walked a lot more than I have been doing on these long runs. 8 miles felt like it took forever. I don’t know what went wrong, but I suspect it had to do with only eating a banana with some peanut butter for breakfast. I also spaced out 3 margarita Shot Bloks during the run, but I don’t know if they helped or not. I managed to finish thanks to my friend and her pace group’s mentor Katie, but I was really tired for the rest of the day. The Blerch was strong that day.

Week 6 total: 14.45 mi

Leave a Reply

