Being Sick & The Kindness of Strangers

Processed with VSCOcam with f1 preset

I caught something. It has been about a week now, but feels much longer. My throat is sore and a bit swollen (I was suspecting Strep, but no white spots are/were present), I’m coughing and my nose is runny too. All of this is doing something to my asthma as well as my lung capacity feels much smaller. Needless to say, I have taken days off from exercise… until last Saturday.

Saturday, November 11th was the Mustache Dache! I felt crappy because I barely had any sleep the night before (I’d say I got about an hour or two of shut eye), but I didn’t want to waste my money. There was traffic getting to Magnuson Park, which sucked and the parking situation was looking horrendous, so my sister dropped me off while she dealed with that.  I didn’t get a chance to pick up my race packet, so I looked for the pick-up area. HOLY MOLY what a hot mess! The lines were marked strangely, which lead to a lot of confusion. Example: the line for U-Z was like 2x longer than the other lines! When I finally got to the table, they were all out of safety pins, arg!!! I was planning on bringing some, but totally forgot. I managed to snag one though, and pinned it in the middle of my bib. 😦

In the end: I finished a bit slower than I usually do, but that was because I had a hard time breathing. Ah well, I did it without injuring myself or collapsing, so yay! But I was parched at the end and kinda snapped at my sister to help me find water (sorry)! Anyway, a medal, a beverage + some chocolate helped everything. 😉

When I got home from the race, I discovered that I had mail from Amazon. I was surprised as I did not order anything recently, but when I opened it I found out it was a present from a Fitocracy member that I follow (Fitocracy is a really fun fitness site that connects you to other like minded people who cheer you on)! It was The Runner’s Rule Book by Mark Remy. Totally fun book, I’m loving it. I especially love Rule 2.32, which states:

“Do whatever it takes to finish ahead of a costumed runner. Because being outkicked by Elmo is too much to bear.”

Haha! Thank you again, Skoolstah (if you ever see this) for encouraging me to join the Amazon Wishlists group and then for buying me this book. 🙂 It definitely is cheering me up while I’m sick. Man, I hope this goes away soon… I miss running outside and taking those boot camp classes. *sigh* *cough cough cough* *wheeze*

Leave a Reply

